The historian Francisco Moyanoofficial chronicler of Marbella, will receive on June 11 the Commemorative Medal of the Cross of the Humilladero on the occasion of the festivity of the local festivities in honor of the Patron Saint, San Bernabé, as announced this Friday by the general director and coordinator of the event, Baldomero León.

This was highlighted by the municipal official in the presentation of the event, where he was accompanied by the president of the Huerto Porral association, organizer of the initiative, and Cristóbal Mesa, where he explained that the The day will start at 10:00 a.m. with the civic-religious procession from the gate of the Consistory to Calle Málaga, where the central act will take place.

León has encouraged citizens to participate in “one of the most relevant moments of the program of events of the fair” and has remembered that will precede the processional parade in honor of the Patron Saint, San Bernabé. Likewise, he has underlined that “the delivery of the ‘Marbellero de Honor’ medal is especially emotional, because it is part of the neighborhood group itself”.

Francisco Moyano, also present at the event, stated that “it is a proud to be chosen to receive this distinction and I am very grateful.” He recalled that “the Cruz del Humilladero is a key place in local history because in the year 1485 hosted the delivery of the keys to King Ferdinand II of Aragon, which meant the transition from being a Muslim city to a Christian one”.

The historian has indicated that “the procession began to be held around the 16th centuryI, but it did not coincide with the fair, which initially took place at the end of May, until much later”.

For his part, Mesa has pointed out that Francisco Moyano has been considered a “one suitable person to receive this recognition because he is closely linked to the city, he is close, very participative and also has an enormous knowledge of the history of Marbella and does a great job of disseminating it”.

You specified that the Humilladero Cross Medal It has been delivered since 2009 and has gone to outstanding personalities and groups such as Fernando Alcalá, Antonio Maíz, Princess Maria Luisa of PrussiaCount Rudi, Isabel García Bardón, Ana María Mata, Dani García, Santiago Domínguez or the Bastiano Bergese Foundation, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *